8 月 01, 2022 类别: 什么是新的? 我们的计划 新鲜空气乐趣

夏季空间:探索、创造和活跃!

今年夏天,纽约市 5 至 12 岁的儿童在户外玩耍,并通过参与和协作活动探索新技能 新鲜空气基金的夏季空间计划.  

感谢我们出色的合作伙伴,Fresh Air 的孩子们能够安全地在户外玩耍并发现新的才能!从设计自己的风筝到学习如何演奏新乐器,纽约的孩子们在夏日空间里忙得不亦乐乎!  

创造 

照片来源:凯瑟琳·博拉佐

在夏季空间,孩子们每天都会参加艺术和手工艺课程,作为日常课程的一部分。新鲜空气的孩子们通过设计自己的风筝、帽子、水瓶等来展示他们的创造力!这些项目为孩子们提供了表达自己的机会,最棒的是——他们可以把自己的创作带回家! 

“艺术和手工艺是我最喜欢的活动。我们必须制作自己的斗篷和雨伞,然后带回家使用。”六岁的 Djene 在我们位于海布里奇的 Summer Spaces 网站上分享道。  

艺术和手工艺是夏季空间课程的重要组成部分,因为它为新鲜空气的孩子们提供了好奇和想象力的自由。随着他们完成的每个项目,他们都可以为自己的工作感到自豪。  

“我喜欢夏日空间,尤其是水瓶的设计,”来自杰克逊高地夏日空间网站的六岁乔纳森说道。 “我在水瓶上画了自己和一颗大大的心,以表达我有多爱今天和我的夏天!” 

探索 

照片来源:安妮卡·希加德

与合作伙伴关系 生物总线, 我们通过户外互动科学实验室将了解环境的兴奋感带入了夏季空间。 BioBus 正在通过简短的介绍性科学课程帮助我们培养下一代科学家。  

在哈莱姆区的 Summer Spaces 地点,Fresh Air 的孩子们学习了如何安全地将昆虫回收到试管和塑料科学板中。他们甚至探索了我们社区合作伙伴附近的社区花园 哈林区成长 寻找不同的昆虫。他们发现了蚂蚁、蜈蚣、药丸虫和蠕虫,随后将它们放在 BioBus 提供的电子放大镜下。  

“这是我第一次捕捉昆虫!我最喜欢的记忆是今天我抓到蜈蚣的时候。我以前从未这样做过,”8 岁的诺亚分享道。“夏日空间真的很有趣!我们做了很多像这样的项目,但都存在错误。” 

音乐 

照片来源:芬恩·奥马利

在 Summer Spaces,Fresh Air 的孩子们通过我们与 ASCAP 基金会。 在 ASCAP 教练的带领下,Fresh Air 孩子们学习了如何正确握住吉他、如何识别吉他的各个部分,甚至可以演奏三种不同的和弦! 

“我喜欢学习音乐和新乐器。吉他是我的最爱。”七岁的阿莫斯说。 

每个孩子围坐在教练周围,都有机会尝试对着麦克风唱歌。一名新鲜空气儿童,七岁的加布里埃尔,拿着麦克风唱歌,她的朋友和辅导员在一旁观看并欢呼! 

通过向 Fresh Air 的孩子们介绍音乐素养的基础知识,为他们寻找不同的爱好打开了可能性之门。 “我一直想学习如何演奏乐器,”9 岁的 Aaliyah 说。“这里真的很有趣,你可以练习吉他。我下一个要学习的乐器是小提琴。” 

积极活动 

照片来源:马修·普里查德

体育运动可以帮助孩子发展身体技能,学习团队合作,在快乐的同时锻炼身体!在 Summer Spaces,保持活跃对新鲜空气孩子的身体和社交都有帮助。在辅导员的陪伴下,他们可以安全地参加各种运动,如足球、足球等!  

我们的合作伙伴 美国网球协会 (USTA)通过教孩子们如何打网球来鼓励他们参加体育运动。今年夏天,美国网球协会对我们的辅导员进行了培训,教他们如何主持研讨会和打网球——即使没有球场! 

“我喜欢有趣的活动,比如运动!我最喜欢的运动是足球和网球。我真的很喜欢跑步,这里有很多有趣的事情可以做,”来自杰克逊高地的七岁朱利安分享道。  

感谢我们的社区合作伙伴的新鲜空气 米斯特卡, 哈林区成长, 生物总线, 美国网球协会, 街头实验室ASCAP 基金会!

September 01, 2022 Category: What's New? Our Programs Fresh Air Fun

Summer Spaces: Exploring, Creating and Getting Active!

This summer New York City children, ages 5 to 12, had fun playing outdoors and explored new skills through engaging and collaborative activities at The Fresh Air Fund’s Summer Spaces program.  

Thanks to our incredible partners, Fresh Air kids were able to safely play outside and discover new talents! From designing their own kites to learning how to play a new instrument, NYC kids were busy having fun at Summer Spaces!  

Creating 

Photo Credit: Katherine Borrazzo

Every day at Summer Spaces, kids have an arts and crafts session as part of their daily curriculum. Fresh Air kids showcase their creativity by designing their own kites, hats, water bottles and more! The projects are an opportunity for kids to express themselves and the best part is – they get to take home their creations! 

“Arts and crafts is my favorite activity. We got to make our own capes and umbrellas that we get to take home and use,” shares six-year-old Djene at our Summer Spaces site located in Highbridge.  

Arts and crafts is an important part of the Summer Spaces sessions because it provides Fresh Air kids the freedom to be curious and imaginative. With every project they complete, they can take pride in their work.  

“I love Summer Spaces especially designing the water bottles,” states six-year-old Jonathan from Summer Spaces site in Jackson Heights. “I drew myself and a big heart on my water bottle to show how much I love today and my summer!” 

Exploring 

Photo Credit: Annika Heegaard

In partnership with BioBus, we brought the excitement of learning about the environment through an outdoor, interactive science lab to Summer Spaces. BioBus is helping us create the next generation of scientists through short, introductory science lessons.  

At the Summer Spaces location in Harlem, Fresh Air kids learned how to safely retrieve insects into test tubes and plastic science plates. They even explored the nearby neighborhood garden at our Community Partner Harlem Grown to find different insects. They found ants, centipedes, pill bugs and worms which they later placed under electronic magnifying glasses provided by BioBus.  

“This was my first time capturing insects! My favorite memory was when I caught the centipede today. I never did that before,” shared Noah, age 8. “Summer Spaces is really fun! We do a lot of projects like this one with bugs.” 

Music 

Photo Credit: Finn O’Malley

At Summer Spaces, Fresh Air children discovered their musical talents through our partnership with the The ASCAP Foundation. Led by an ASCAP instructor, Fresh Air kids learned how to properly hold a guitar, how to identify parts of a guitar and even three different chords to play! 

“I love learning about music and new instruments. The guitar is my favorite.” said seven-year-old Amos. 

Sitting in a circle around the instructor, every child had the opportunity to try out singing into a microphone. One Fresh Air child, seven-year-old Gabrielle, took the microphone to sing as her friends and counselors watched and cheered! 

By introducing Fresh Air kids to the basics of music literacy, it opens the door of possibility for them to seek out different hobbies. “I always wanted to learn how to play an instrument,” said Aaliyah, 9. “It’s really fun here and you get to practice the guitar. My next instrument to learn is going to be a violin.” 

Getting Active 

Photo Credit: Matthew Pritchard

Playing sports helps children develop physical skills, learn teamwork and exercise while having fun! At Summer Spaces, staying active helps Fresh Air kids both physically and socially. With counselors by their side, they safely take part in a variety of sports such as soccer, football and more!  

Our partnership with The United States Tennis Association (USTA) encouraged kids to participate in sports by teaching them how to play tennis. USTA trained our counselors this summer on how to lead workshops and play tennis  – even without a court! 

“I love fun activities like sports! My favorite sports are soccer and tennis. I really love running and there are so many fun things to do here,” shares seven-year-old Julian from Jackson Heights.  

A big Fresh Air thank you to our community partners Mixteca, Harlem Grown, BioBus, USTA, Street Lab and The ASCAP Foundation!